Saturday, 22 October 2011

TOURIST PLACE of San Marino - 2011

The souvenir sheet shows six views of San Marino: the San Francesco Gate, the Church of San Francesco, the Government Building, the First Tower, the Basilica del Santo and the Church of the Capuchin.  
At the bottom right the first stamp shows the San Francesco Gate, known also as the Porta del Loco, the ancient access gateway to the City of San Marino. To the left are the Church of San Francesco and the Government Building.

At the top left is the First Tower, also called Guaita or Rocca, the oldest of the three towers of Mount Titano. It is encircled by two defensive walls, the innermost one enclosing the Campanaria Tower, the Casermetta, which was historically home to the guards, and the Penna Tower.
At the top in the centre is the Basilica del Santo, also called the Pieve. Built in a neoclassical style, to a project by the Bolognese architect, Antonio Serra, and dedicated to the “Divo Marino” the founder and patron of the Republic, this is the main church of the City of San Marino. It was built on the site where the Pieve (parish church) of San Marino once stood, whose massive Romanesque bell tower still rises at its side.
Finally, at the top right, the sixth stamp shows an image of the Church of the Capuchin, also known as the Church of Saint Quirinus of the Capuchin Monastery.
This souvenir  sheet designed by Antonio Giuffrida on the 5th of April 2011.The souvenir sheet is completed by the coat of arms of the Republic, Saint Marino holding his city in his hand with the legend, “Relinquo Vos liberos ab utroque homine”, which may be freely translated as, “I leave you free from both powers: the temporal and the religious” i.e. the Emperor and the Pope.
Technorati Tags: ,


Deutsche Bank Online Banking said...


Online Ged said...

Thank you for sharing such relevant topic with us. I really love all the great stuff you provide. Thanks again and keep it coming.